Washougal, WA — Hillary Marshall, Library Media Specialist at Washougal High School, is one of six teachers from throughout Washington and Oregon who were recently named OnPoint Community Credit Union Circle of Excellence winners.  Each winner will receive a $1,500 cash prize and $1,000 donation to their school.

“Hillary is an exceptional educator and this recognition from OnPoint Credit Union is very well deserved,” said Mary Templeton, WSD Superintendent, who nominated Marshall.  “This award highlights what we in Washougal already know, that she is an incredible teacher, librarian, and technology enthusiast, helping the entire field of education better understand the role of information literacy and critical thinking skills in the 21st century classroom.” 

Marshall has been at Washougal High School for seven years.  In addition to her work as the WHS Library Media Specialist, she is the Washington Library Association School Library Division (ScLD) Chair, WHS Advanced Placement Coordinator, and Microsoft TEALS Partnership Coordinator.

“I am so honored that I’ve been selected for the OnPoint Circle of Excellence,” said Marshall. “Librarians are lifelong teachers!”

 “Hillary brings passion for literacy, love of technology, an ability to quickly establish rapport with students, value for student voice in planning activities, and a positive, friendly demeanor to her work.  It makes her library a place that students want to be,” said Les Brown, WSD Director of Communication and Technology.   “Hillary continually searches for a fresh set of ideas and activities to enhance our library system, and created initiatives to modernize the facility, the collection, the technology tools, and the day-to-day business processes in the library.” 

Marshall’s inclusion of students in creating and refining programs has resulted in a great makerspace at Washougal High that is utilized by students and teachers in cross-curricular lessons.  She has been a guest presenter and regional and statewide professional development opportunities for librarians and teachers, championing new ways to engage students in authentic lessons that involve developing an engineering mindset that help students solve real-world problems with hands-on activities.

“Hillary’s passion for education and her love of teaching is evident every single day,” said WSD Assistant Superintendent Aaron Hansen, who supervised Marshall in his former role as WHS Principal. “Every time I worked with her or saw her in action, it is her passion, energy, and enthusiasm that stands out. She shares her appreciation for learning with her students and colleagues. She has a positive attitude and because of that, she has had a positive impact on our students and staff.”

Hansen added that the moment a person walks into the library, they get an immediate sense for her energy and her priorities. “Hillary has made an enormous difference not only within the library, but the entire school,” he said.

ABOUT OnPoint Awards

In a May 12 2020 press release, OnPoint also announced the four finalists for the 2020 Prize for Excellence in Education Educator of the Year. The contest, which runs from February 18 to May 27, awards two remarkable teachers by paying their mortgages for one year and donating $2,500 to each of their schools.  In addition to the Educators of the Year and Circle of Excellence awards, four schools were also honored with the Community Builder award and will receive $2,000 for a special project of their choice.

“The COVID-19 crisis has underscored the vital role teachers play in the daily lives of children,” said Rob Stuart, President and Chief Executive Officer, OnPoint Community Credit Union. “The nomination process inspires OnPoint every year, but this year was particularly moving as we heard stories of teachers distributing meal boxes to students, offering regular remote story time, and simply being a support system for families as they navigate COVID-19.”


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *